Measles Outbreak Situation Update #3 (25 April 2019)

Key Highlights

Since January 2019, Measles outbreaks confirmed in 11 counties and three Protection of Civilian (PoC) sites (Juba, Bentiu, and Malakal).

Reactive vaccination campaigns conducted in seven counties (Abyei, Mayom, Pibor, Juba, Gogrial West, Aweil South, Melut).

Partners have been identified to implement reactive vaccination campaigns in Tonj North, Gogrial East, Aweil Center and Aweil West counties.

Lack of operational funding for the implementing partners a major challenge in instituting timely responses to the outbreaks.

Nationwide measles follow campaign is being organized for September 2019.

Measles Outbreak description

Since the beginning of 2019, measles outbreaks have been confirmed in 11 counties and three PoC sites (Juba, Bentiu, and Malakal). The affected counties are Abyei, Juba (including Juba 1&3 PoC), Pibor, Gogrial West, Gogrial East, Mayom, Melut, Aweil South, Tonj North, Aweil West and Aweil Center counties. Cumulatively a total of 908 cases have been reported in the 11 counties and three PoC sites with 62 laboratory-confirmed cases and seven (CFR=0.8%) deaths.

Source: Government of the Republic of South Sudan