LOCAL ROUND-UP – Al Thuraya begins practice in Le Havre

The women crew on board Al Thuraya went about its first practice session in Le Havre, France before starting their campaign in the 2015 Normandy Sailing Week in France. The young crew, skippered by Ibtisam al Salmi, faced chilly 25-knot winds and rough waters in the course of practice.

Ibtisam, who has also been named as a member of Oman Sail’s elite MOD 70 crew this summer, is joined for the Al Thuraya summer campaign by Marwa al Khaifi, Asma al Alawi and Tumadher al Balushi, who are all members of the Oman Sail Women’s Programme.

“Some of the girls in the team had never been on a J80 before, so this is a new experience for them. But they seem to be relishing the challenge,” said Mary Rook, coach and mentor who will be racing on Al Thuraya this week.

OTA board approves request of Al Talee’a

The board of the Oman Tennis Association (OTA) met on Tuesday to discuss the matter of Al Talee’a club seeking membership of the national tennis body. The club’s request was approved by the OTA’s board that has referred the matter to the general assembly, which in turn, will meet to formalise the induction of Al Talee’a into the OTA’s fold.

The meeting was chaired by OTA chief Mutassim al Zadjali.

The meeting also discussed other matters including the appointment of a new coach and reviewed the performance of its players in recent tournaments.

Titles for Conlan, Parker

Nick Conlan and Asta Parker clinched the men’s and women’s titles, respectively, at race four of the 2015 Muscat Road Runners (MRR) Tarmac Summer Series that was held in Wadi Adai recently. Conlan completed the 5.8km course in a time of 21 minutes, 57 seconds to finish ahead of runner-up Julien Le Clerc (22m34s) and No 3 Hamed al Mahrooqi (22m59s).

Parker won the women’s crown in a time of 27m26s and was followed by Irene Ng’eno (27m49s) and Jo Charters (30m11s) in second and third places, respectively. The next race will be staged on August 26.

Other results: Men’s veterans: 1 Salah al Wahaibi (26m24s), 2 Bert Michels (26m57s), 3 Paul Dean (28m15s); women’s veterans: 1 Clare Maycock (36m0s), 2 Francesca

Aub-Robinson (36m22s), 3 Anna Keegan (45m14s); juniors: 1 Harriet (19m42s), 2 Erin (30m11s), 3 Skye (33m19s).