Oman’s karting racer Sanad al Rawahi began the 2015 Rotax Max Challenge season on a positive note, clinching both titles on offer in the DD2 category held at the Oman Automobile Association’s (OAA) Muscat Speedway during the weekend.

Driving his new Birel Art kart, Sanad won the first round on Friday and followed it up with another winning performance in the second round on Saturday. In both events, he pipped UAE’s Oliver George, the eventual runner-up.

The season-opening wins have boosted the Omani youngster’s confidence ahead of the third and fourth rounds, which will be held alongside the seventh and eighth rounds of the UAE Rotax Max Challenge next week.

Sanad was seen at his aggressive best in the second round and it was in contrast with the cautious approach he adopted in Friday’s first round.

Starting from pole in the second round, Sanad broke away from the rest and took the lead before completing the first lap. The lead widened with each lap, though George tried his best to reduce the gap.

Meanwhile, the first round saw the two drivers engage in a tight battle for supremacy. Sanad, who started from pole, made his intentions clear from the beginning and was able to gain a lead of 0.541s in the second lap. But George clawed back into the contest. At the half-way mark, Sanad had a lead of 0.046 seconds, but he expertly negotiated the curves to take the title.

Former Oman rally great Hamed al Wahaibi also had an impressive outing, finishing third in the second round.

Patrick Hannah was dominant in Senior Max category as he won both two rounds.

In the junior category, Taymour Kermanshahchi from UAE asserted his supremacy, winning both races.

Results: Round one [Friday]: DD2: 1 Sanad al Rawahi (13m40.567s), 2 Oliver George (13m40.747s), 3 Andrew Fuller (14m06.496s).

Senior Max: 1 Patrick Hannah (14m08.342s), 2 Faisal al Zubair (14m22.717s), 3 Mohammed al Zubair (14m23.246s).

Junior Max: 1 Taymour Kermanshahchi (13m52.529s), 2 Khalid al Wahaibi (13m56.843s), 3 Marcus Lee Marker (14m01.001s).

Minimax: 1 Shihab al Habsi (12m06.480s), 2 Annas al Rawahi (12m33.204s).

Micromax: 1 Ziggy Kermanshahchi (12m53.147s), 2 Mohammed al Habsi (12m54.859s), 3 Theo Kekati (12m58.340s).

Bambino: 1 Eamonn Djeridi (59 pts), 2 Ali al Maskary (56), 3 Khalid al Farsi (53).

Round two [Saturday]: DD2: 1 Sanad al Rawahi (13m36.615s), 2 Oliver George (13m42.634s), 3 Hamed al Wahaibi (13m48.962s).

Senior Max: 1 Patrick Hannah (14m13.029s); 2 Faisal al Zubair (14m25.117s).

Junior Max: 1 Taymour (15m18.940s), 2 Khalid al Wahaibi (15m26.895s), 3 Marcus Lee Marker (15m27.289s).

Micro Max: 1 Ziggy Kermanshahchi (11m17.566s), 2 Theo Kekati (11m27.430s).

Mini Max (winner): Shihab al Habsi (10m45.120s).

Bambino: 1 Eamonn Djeridi, 2 Gabriel Piazzolla, 3 Khalid al Farsi.