MUSCAT: The fourth Badr al Samaa inter-branch cricket tournament, Badr Cricket League – BCL 2015 was organised by Badr al Samaa Hospital, Ruwi branch recently. The matches were played at Sultan School ground, Al Khoudh.

Nine teams including members from all nine branches of Badr al Samaa Group of Hospitals participated in the event. The teams were named with respect to their parent branches as Ruwi Royals for Badr al Samaa Hospital, Ruwi; Salalah Tuskers for Badr al Samaa Hospital, Salalah; Al Khoud Chargers for Badr al Samaa Hospital Al Khoud; Barka Warriors for Badr al Samaa Barka; Nizwa Sixes for Badr al Samaa Nizwa; Sur Strikers for Badr al Samaa Sur; Al Khuwayr Badr Stormers for Badr al Samaa, Al Khuwair; Sohar Rhinos for Badr al Samaa, Sohar and Falaj Blasters for Badr al Samaa Falaj al Qabail.

The matches were conducted at three levels. The first semifinal was played between Sur Strikers and Sohar Rhinos and the second semifinal between Ruwi Royals and Nizwa Sixes. The final was between Ruwi Royals and Sohar Rhinos and it was won by Ruwi Royals.

Dr Justine Augustine, general manager, Devassy, group marketing manager, Alwin George, group finance manager and Prasanth, branch manager Ruwi and other branch managers of Badr al Samaa Group were present during the occasion.

BCL Cup 2015 was given to the winning team, Ruwi Royals, by George and Devassy.

Trophy to the runners up Sohar Rhinos was given by Prasanth.

Trophy to the best outstanding team, Sur Srikers was given by Dr Vijay, specialist ophthalmologist.

Man of the series and man of the final was Vijesh of Ruwi Royals and the trophy was given to him by Dr Gerry D’Costa, psychiatrist. The best bowler, Fasil from Ruwi, and best batsman, Shakkeer from Sohar were also given prizes.

The event was managed by Prasanth and coordinated by Sumesh and Naushad.

The teams were managed by their respective team leaders namely Ansar – Ruwi Royals, Jyothish – Al Khoud Charges, Mustafa – Al Khuwair, Noorisha – Barka Warriors, Krishnanunnni – Salalah Tuskers, Dr Ashique – Falaj Blasters, Dr Abhilash – Sur Strikers, Sayed – Nizwa Sixes and Ashraf – Sohar Rhinos.

Badr Cricket League was introduced in 2012 and the management promoted the idea of having the cricket league organised every year.

SOURCE: Muscat Daily