Indian School Wadi Kabir (ISWK) coasted to a ten-wicket victory against Indian School al Ghubra (ISG) in the final to claim the Oman Cricket girls’ U19 league title at Al Amerat recently.

ISWK’s Akshadha Gunashekar hit 65 not out and Jayadhanya Gunashekar scored 37 not out.

Brief scores: ISG 134-3 in 25 overs (Nayan Anil 54 n.o) lost to ISWK 135-0 in 19 overs (Akshadha 65 n.o, Jayadhanya 37 n.o).


ISWK captain Akshadha (left) receives the winner’s trophy

Individual winners (season): best batting: Nayan (ISG) – 311 runs; consolation batting: Akshadha; best bowler: Thara Fathima (ISG) – 10 wkts; consolation bowling: Amal Binte (PSM).

Future Oilfield wins

Arun Dev of OUA Travel

Future Oilfield posted a commanding 108-run win against Al Maddah in an Oman Cricket D division match at Al Amerat recently.

Brief scores: Future Oilfield 223-9 in 20 overs (Mohammed Amjad 60, Imran Ali 53; Shanawas 4-31) Al Maddah 115-8 in 20 overs (Abdul Rahman 73 n.o; Wasim Abbas 6-15).

Other results: E division: Moosa Abdul Rahman Company 173-9 in 20 overs (Khalid Moosa 50; Ajayan 2-21, Kaja 2-22) beat Atkins 145-8 in 20 overs (Prithvi 33; Mohammed Irfan 2-23).

Ruwan Amila of Sayarti

Majees A 129-6 in 20 overs (Mohsin Zaidi 32 n.o; Lokesh Nair 2-15) lost to Sayarti 130-6 in 15.1 overs (Ruwan Amila 61; Mudassar Iqbal 3-39).

F division: OUA Travel 188-3 in 20 overs (Arun Dev 122) beat Al Daam 167-8 in 20 overs (Abhilash 37; Rafeeq al Balushi 3-28).

G division: Al Rehwan 121 in 19.2 overs (Hassan 3-28, Nagendra 3-18) beat RK Group 119 in 19.3 overs (Mohsin 63; Nithin 4-20, Shihabuddin 4-21).

H division: Ahli Bank 175-9 in 19 overs (Issa al Balushi 61; Pranav 3-22, Saravanan 3-20) lost to Ras al Hamra Recreation Club 175-8 in 19 overs (Sujith R 54).

I division: Douglas OHI 192-7 in 20 overs (Riyaz 3-28) beat Trust Doosan 173 in 20 overs (Sanjay 49; Vinod 2-28).

J division: Mani’s Azad 152-9 in 20 overs (Ali Samoon 45; Jebin 2-26, Khurram Rashid 2-10) lost to Hydrotech 153-0 in 15.1 overs (Rashid 93 n.o).

Avigyan in U14 final

Avigyan Bhattacharya defeated top seed Vedanth Ram 6-2, 6-0 in the semifinals of the boys’ U14 singles event at the annual tennis tournament, organised by Indian Social Club (ISC) Muscat, on Sunday.

In boys’ U10 singles action, top seed Vatsal Manikandan defeated Mikhail Sarit 6-0 to enter the final.

In the title showdown, he faces second seed Praneeth Raj, who got the better of J Kaavya 6-2.